Eden Hall Upper Elementary - Grade 4 Realistic Fiction

Wonder By R. J. Palacio - Realistic Fiction recommended for fourth grade students.
Wonder By R. J. Palacio - Realistic Fiction recommended for fourth grade students.

Realistic Fiction recommended by Eden Hall librarians for fourth grade students.

Recommendations: 

Best Friends By Shannon Hale, LeUyen Pham (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Shannon Hale, LeUyen Pham (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781250317469
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - August 27th, 2019

A National and New York Times Bestseller!

The creators of Real Friends Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham are back with a true story about popularity, first crushes, and finding your own path in the graphic novel, Best Friends.

Follow your heart. Find your people.


Guts: A Graphic Novel By Raina Telgemeier Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780545852500
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - September 17th, 2019

A true story from Raina Telgemeier, the #1 New York Times bestselling, multiple Eisner Award-winning author of Smile, Sisters, Drama, and Ghosts!

Raina wakes up one night with a terrible upset stomach. Her mom has one, too, so it's probably just a bug.


Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus: Volume 1 By Dusti Bowling Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781454932994
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Union Square Kids - March 5th, 2019

"Aven is a perky, hilarious, and inspiring protagonist whose attitude and humor will linger even after the last page has turned." --School Library Journal (Starred review)


Juana and Lucas By Juana Medina, Juana Medina (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Juana Medina, Juana Medina (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9780763672089
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - September 27th, 2016

Winner of the 2017 Pura Belpré Author Award

Fans of Judy Moody and Clarice Bean will love Juana, the spunky young Colombian girl who stars in this playful, abundantly illustrated new series.


The Lemonade War (The Lemonade War Series #1) By Jacqueline Davies Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780547237657
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Clarion Books - October 11th, 2022

Here is a clever blend of humor, math wizardry, and business know-how. As it captures the one-of-a-kind bond between brother and sister, this poignant novel also subtly explores how arguments can escalate beyond anyone’s intent.


Merci Suárez Changes Gears By Meg Medina Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780763690496
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - September 11th, 2018

Winner of the Newbery Medal
A New York Times Bestseller

Thoughtful, strong-willed sixth-grader Merci Suarez navigates difficult changes with friends, family, and everyone in between in a resonant new novel from Meg Medina.


Operation Frog Effect By Sarah Scheerger Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780525644156
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling - February 18th, 2020

NOMINATED FOR MULTIPLE STATE AWARDS! If one small act can create a ripple across the universe . . . what happens when a whole group of kids join together and act?


Strange Birds: A Field Guide to Ruffling Feathers By Celia C. Pérez Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780425290453
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - September 1st, 2020

From the award-winning author of The First Rule of Punk comes the story of four kids who form an alternative Scout troop that shakes up their sleepy Florida town.

*"Writing with wry restraint that's reminiscent of Kate DiCamillo... a beautiful tale." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review


Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing By Judy Blume Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780142408810
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puffin Books - April 5th, 2007

Celebrate 50 years of Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing!

The #1 New York Times bestselling author's first book in her classic Fudge series.


The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street By Karina Yan Glaser Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781328499219
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Clarion Books - September 4th, 2018

The first book in the bestselling series that the New York Times Book Review hails as “delightful and heartwarming.”


Wonder By R. J. Palacio Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780375869020
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - February 14th, 2012

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Millions of people have fallen in love with Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary facewho shows us that kindness brings us together no matter how far apart we are. Read the book that inspired the Choose Kind movement, a major motion picture, and the critically acclaimed graphic novel White Bird.


Bobby vs. Girls (Accidentally) By Lisa Yee, Dan Santat (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Lisa Yee, Dan Santat (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9780545055932
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - May 1st, 2010

With the hilarious adventures of Bobby Ellis-Chan, Lisa Yee and Caldecott Medalist Dan Santat bring their gifts for finding the funny (and the truth) in everyday situations to chapter-book readers.

All of Bobby Ellis-Chan's problems in life can be summed up in one word: GIRLS.There's his sister Casey, who has a weird obsession with Bobby's goldfish, Rover.There's Jillian Zarr, who gets mad e


Calvin Coconut: Trouble Magnet By Graham Salisbury Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780375846007
Availability: Backordered
Published: Yearling - April 27th, 2010

A humorous chapter book about a fourth-grade boy, full of the fun of growing up in Hawaii.
 
Calvin Coconut lives near the beach in Kailua, Hawaii, with his mom and his little sister. All his friends live there, too.


Diary of a Wimpy Kid (Diary of a Wimpy Kid Collection #1) By Jeff Kinney Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781410498779
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Thorndike Press Large Print - February 22nd, 2017

Dirt By Denise Gosliner Orenstein Cover Image
$6.99
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780545925860
Published: Scholastic Inc. - May 28th, 2019

A Horse in the house?

Things are hard for eleven-year-old Yonder. Her mother died and her father has sunk into sadness. She doesn't have a friend to her name... except for Dirt, the Shetland pony next door.Dirt has problems of his own. He's overweight, he's always in trouble, and his owner is the mean Miss Enid, who doesn't have the patience for a pony's natural curiosity.


The Fabled Fourth Graders of Aesop Elementary School By Candace Fleming Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780440422297
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling - July 14th, 2009

Here's a chapter book of contemporary fables about a rambunctious group of fourth graders and their amazing teacher—the globe-trotting, Mayan-ceremonial-robe-wearing Mr. Jupiter—that is sure to delight students and teachers alike. Kids will laugh out loud as they learn tried-and-true lessons in this funny, fast-paced book.


Niagara Falls, Or Does It? #1 (Hank Zipzer #1) By Henry Winkler, Lin Oliver Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780448431628
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grosset & Dunlap - February 10th, 2004

Inspired by the true life experiences of Henry Winkler, whose undiagnosed dyslexia made him a classic childhood underachiever, the Hank Zipzer series is about the high-spirited and funny adventures of a boy with learning differences.


Gaby, Lost and Found: A Wish Novel By Angela Cervantes Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780545798631
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - April 28th, 2015

Gaby comes to the WISH line! Wanted: One amazing forever home for one amazing sixth grader.

"My name is Gaby, and I'm looking for a home.


Sam the Man & the Cell Phone Plan By Frances O'Roark Dowell, Amy June Bates (Illustrator) Cover Image
$16.99
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781534412613
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - June 4th, 2019

Sam Graham wants a cell phone to help him with his research, but when his parents say no, he has to come up with another way to keep all the info he needs in his pocket in this hilarious fifth chapter book in the Sam the Man series from Frances O’Roark Dowell.

Here are the facts: Sam Graham is an information man. But to get information, you need to do research.


Stink: The Incredible Shrinking Kid By Megan McDonald, Peter H. Reynolds (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Megan McDonald, Peter H. Reynolds (Illustrator)
$4.99
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780763664268
Published: Candlewick - February 12th, 2013

By popular demand — Judy Moody's brother, Stink, gets his chance to star!

Shrink, shrank, shrunk!


The Year of Billy Miller: A Newbery Honor Award Winner (A Miller Family Story) By Kevin Henkes, Kevin Henkes (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Kevin Henkes, Kevin Henkes (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062268143
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Greenwillow Books - May 26th, 2015

Newbery Honor Book and New York Times Bestseller!

Award-winning, nationally bestselling author Kevin Henkes introduces second-grader Billy Miller in this fast-paced and funny story about friendship, sibling rivalry, and elementary school.