Carrie's Recommendations

Carrie is a "fortysomething " mom to three teenagers and one perfect dog.
Carrie is a "fortysomething " mom to three teenagers and one perfect dog.

I am a "fortysomething " mom to three teenagers and one perfect dog  -(moms favorite!)- who is fortunate enough to say I have been working at Riverstone Books since the very beginning. My favorite things to do outside of Riverstone (other than read, of course) are traveling (Disney World and Gettysburg are among the favorites) and kayaking. My favorite genre is historic fiction because,  with a good book, I can travel the world and thru time without ever leaving the house. I love to feel as if I am a witness to history! But, in a close second, I cannot resist a "dark and twisty " psychological thriller that will keep me on the edge of my comfy chair.  I love working in an independent bookstore, but I would rather "talk books" with customers all day than do anything else.

Recommendations: 

The Exiles: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062356345
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Custom House - August 25th, 2020

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

OPTIONED FOR TELEVISION BY BRUNA PAPANDREA, THE PRODUCER OF HBO'S BIG LITTLE LIES


Yellow Wife: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781982149109
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - January 12th, 2021

“A fully immersive, intricately crafted story inspired by the pages of history. In Pheby, Sadeqa Johnson has created a woman whose struggle to survive and to protect the ones she loves will have readers turning the pages as fast as their fingers can fly.


The Wife Upstairs: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250245496
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Press - January 5th, 2021

Instant New York Times and USA Today Bestseller

“Compulsively readable...a gothic thriller laced with arsenic.” ––EW


The Four Winds: A Novel Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250178602
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - February 2nd, 2021

From the number-one bestselling author of The Nightingale and The Great Alone comes a powerful American epic about love and heroism and hope, set during the Great Depression, a time when the country was in crisis and at war with itself, when millions were out of work and even the land seemed to have turned against them.


The Handmaid's Tale: A Novel Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780385490818
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor - March 16th, 1998

#1 New York Times Bestseller 

An instant classic and eerily prescient cultural phenomenon, from “the patron saint of feminist dystopian fiction” (The New York Times). Now an award-winning Hulu series starring Elizabeth Moss.


Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780446563079
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - April 19th, 2011

Indiana. Moonlight falls through the dense woods that surround a one-room cabin, where a nine-year-old Abraham Lincoln kneels at his suffering mother's bedside. She's been stricken with something the old-timers call "Milk Sickness."

"My baby boy..." she whispers before dying.


The Witching Hour (Lives of Mayfair Witches #1) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780345384461
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ballantine Books - March 22nd, 1993

Demonstrating once again her gift for spellbinding stoyrtelling, Anne Rice makes real a family of witches--a family given to poetry and incest, to murder and philsophy, a family that is itself haunted by a powerful, dangerous and seductive being.
"Unfolds like a poisonous lotus blossom redolent with luxurious evil."
THE LOS ANGELES TIMES


Something in the Water: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781524797676
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ballantine Books - April 9th, 2019

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER A shocking discovery on a honeymoon in paradise changes the lives of a picture-perfect couple in this taut psychological thriller debut—for readers of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Shari Lapena.


The Betrayal of Mary, Queen of Scots: Elizabeth I and Her Greatest Rival Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9781643130002
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Pegasus Books - November 13th, 2018

From the New York Times bestselling author of Becoming Queen Victoria, a new history of Mary Queen of Scots and Elizabeth I that reveals how the most important relationship of their life—their friendship—changed them forever. 

Elizabeth and Mary were cousins and queens, but eventually it became impossible for them to live togeth


Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen: A Novel (Six Tudor Queens) Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781101966501
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ballantine Books - May 2nd, 2017

Bestselling author and acclaimed historian Alison Weir takes on what no fiction writer has done before: creating a dramatic six-book series in which each novel covers one of King Henry VIII’s wives. In this captivating opening volume, Weir brings to life the tumultuous tale of Katherine of Aragon, Henry’s first, devoted, and “true” queen.
 


Jefferson's Daughters: Three Sisters, White and Black, in a Young America Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781101886267
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ballantine Books - January 29th, 2019

The remarkable untold story of Thomas Jefferson’s three daughters—two white and free, one black and enslaved—and the divergent paths they forged in a newly independent America
 


One Thousand White Women: The Journals of May Dodd (One Thousand White Women Series #1) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780312199432
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - February 15th, 1999

Based on an actual historical event but told through fictional diaries, this is the story of May Dodd—a remarkable woman who, in 1875, travels through the American West to marry the chief of the Cheyenne Nation.


Never Caught: The Washingtons' Relentless Pursuit of Their Runaway Slave, Ona Judge Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781501126413
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: 37 Ink - January 9th, 2018

A startling and eye-opening look into America’s First Family, Never Caught is the powerful story about a daring woman of “extraordinary grit” (The Philadelphia Inquirer).

When George Washington was elected president, he reluctantly left behind his beloved Mount Vernon to serve in Philadelphia, the temporary seat of the nation’s capital.


Homegoing Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781101971062
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - May 2nd, 2017

A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK • Ghana, eighteenth century: two half sisters are born into different villages, each unaware of the other. One will marry an Englishman and lead a life of comfort in the palatial rooms of the Cape Coast Castle. The other will be captured in a raid on her village, imprisoned in the very same castle, and sold into slavery.


Baby Teeth: A Novel Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250170767
Availability: Backordered
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - July 16th, 2019

One of Entertainment Weekly’s Must-Read Books for July | People Magazine's Book of the Week | One of Bustle's "Fifteen Books With Chilling Protagonists That Will Keep You Guessing" | One of PopSugar's "25 Must-Read Books That Will Make July Fly By!" | One of the "Biggest Thrillers of the Summer"SheReads | A Barnes and Noble Blog Best T


Irena's Children: The Extraordinary Story of the Woman Who Saved 2,500 Children from the Warsaw Ghetto Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781476778518
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery Books - June 6th, 2017

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Widow Clicquot comes an extraordinary and gripping account of Irena Sendler—the “female Oskar Schindler”—who took staggering risks to save 2,500 children from death and deportation in Nazi-occupied Poland during World War II.

In 1942, one young social worker, Irena Sendler, was granted access to t


Lilac Girls: A Novel (Woolsey-Ferriday) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781101883082
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ballantine Books - February 28th, 2017

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • One million copies sold! Inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this remarkable debut novel reveals the power of unsung women to change history in their quest for love, freedom, and second chances.


The White Queen: A Novel (The Plantagenet and Tudor Novels) Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781416563693
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Washington Square Press - April 6th, 2010

The inspiration for the critically acclaimed Starz miniseries The White Queen, #1 New York Times bestselling author Philippa Gregory brings to life the extraordinary story of Elizabeth Woodville, a woman who rises from obscurity to become Queen of England, and changes the course of history forever.

Elizabeth Woodville is a woman of extraordinary beauty and ambition.


The Night Olivia Fell Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781501184000
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery Books - February 5th, 2019

In the vein of Big Little Lies and Reconstructing Amelia comes an emotionally charged domestic suspense novel about a mother unraveling the truth behind how her daughter became brain dead. And pregnant.

A search for the truth.


Just Between Us: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781250167200
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - January 9th, 2018

"Twisty and compelling [...] a terrific read." — Associated Press

"Compulsively readable... Just Between Us winds its roller-coaster plot around our tendency to see exactly what we are looking for—while our little lies take on dangerous lives of their own." — O, The Oprah Magazine


Before and After: The Incredible Real-Life Stories of Orphans Who Survived the Tennessee Children's Home Society Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593156704
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ballantine Books - February 2nd, 2021

The compelling, poignant true stories of victims of a notorious adoption scandal—some of whom learned the truth from Lisa Wingate’s bestselling novel Before We Were Yours and were reunited with birth family members as a result of its wide reach


America's First Daughter: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062347268
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - March 1st, 2016

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER