Be Real, Macy Weaver (Hardcover)

Be Real, Macy Weaver By Lakita Wilson Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
McCandless Crossing
2 on hand, as of Dec 4 5:03pm
(Middle Grade)

Description


A humorous, heartfelt, and fashion-filled contemporary novel about Macy Weaver, a young girl struggling with how to be her true self and make a best friend. Perfect for fans of From the Desk of Zoe Washington and Stand Up, Yumi Chung.

Eleven-year-old Macy Weaver knows relationships are complicated. Fresh off her latest friendship breakup, she’s spent most of her summer break on her own. So when Macy’s mother decides to go back to college three states away, Macy jumps on the chance to move—anything for a fresh start.
 
But Macy’s new home isn’t exactly what she expected. Her mother’s never around and her dad’s always working. Lonelier than ever, Macy sets her sights on finding a new best friend. When she meets Brynn, who’s smart and kind and already seems to have her whole life figured out—down to her future as a high fashion model—Macy knows she’s it. The only problem is that Brynn already has a BFF and, as everyone knows, you can only have one.
 
Resorting to old habits, Macy turns one small lie into a whole new life—full of fantastic fashion and haute couture—but it isn't long before everything really falls apart. Ultimately, Macy must determine how to make things right and be true to herself—rather than chasing after the person she thinks she’s supposed to be.

About the Author


Lakita Wilson is an MFA student at Vermont College of Fine Arts studying Writing for Children and Young Adults. Her middle grade manuscript won the 2017 SCBWI On-the-Verge Emerging Voices Award. On Instagram, you can find her posting about black culture on her account @welovedthe90s, which has over 72K followers, and promoting diverse children’s literature on her account @lakitareads, which has over 25K followers. Lakita lives in Maryland with her two children and Shih-Tzu. 
 
 

 

Praise For…


"Macy is easy to love! Her search for a friend who will appreciate her true self is relatable and inspiring. The novel is fun, inclusive, and a celebration of being who you really are. This was such a delightful read! Make way for Lakita Wilson—a fresh, exciting voice in children’s fiction!"—Kekla Magoon, CSK Honor-winning author for The Season of Styx Malone and National Book Award finalist for Revolution in Our Time

*"An earnest and lighthearted novel that offers an honest look at friendships...Be Real, Macy Weaver is an authentic look into middle-grade friendships, family and identity."—Shelf Awareness, starred review
 
"Wilson’s middle-grade novel is the perfect blend of humor, introspection, and authenticity. The major characters are both realistic and likable, and she creates a fully formed, three-dimensional world that integrates serious topics with knee-slapping humor and heartfelt growth. This is a must-read for children who are working through the process of developing their own identities."—Booklist

"An engaging read...A nice blend of life’s joys and challenges for today’s middle-grade readers."—Kirkus Reviews

"Middle graders will find this a compelling and satisfying read, especially so if they are fans of fashion-oriented shows like Project Runway."—School Library Connection

"Readers will enjoy Macy’s authentic voice...[This is] a solid realistic fiction choice for fans of Renée Watson, Jamie Sumner, or Janae Marks."—School Library Journal

"Wilson...sensitively navigates anxiety and the societal pressures associated with belonging and making friends in this lighthearted volume with a predominantly Black cast."—Publishers Weekly


Product Details
ISBN: 9780593465721
ISBN-10: 0593465725
Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: July 12th, 2022
Pages: 384
Language: English