Just Jaime (Emmie & Friends) (Paperback)

Just Jaime (Emmie & Friends) By Terri Libenson, Terri Libenson (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Terri Libenson, Terri Libenson (Illustrator)
$15.99
On Our Shelves Now
McCandless Crossing
1 on hand, as of Jun 14 1:30pm
(Comics Graphic Nov)

Summer 2019 Kids Indie Next List


“An instantly relatable tale for anyone who has struggled or is currently struggling with navigating the tricky trials and tribulations of middle-school friendships. Told from both sides of a lifelong friendship that seems headed for an imminent end, Just Jaime tells a story of female friendship with a focus on the respect, depth, and empathy young girls deserve but so often don’t get from adults.”
— Miranda McGowan, An Unlikely Story, Plainville, MA

Description


Another spot-on story of middle school drama and friendship from Terri Libenson, national bestselling author of graphic novel favorites Invisible Emmie and Positively Izzy.

Friends. Frenemies. Middle school...

The last day of seventh grade has Jaime and Maya wondering who their real friends are.

Jaime knows something is off with her friend group. They’ve started to exclude her and make fun of the way she dresses and the things she likes. At least she can count on her BFF, Maya, to have her back . . . right?

Maya feels more and more annoyed with Jaime, who seems babyish compared to the other girls in their popular group. It’s like she has nothing in common with Jai anymore. Are their days as BFFs numbered . . . ?

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jennifer L. Holm.

Plus don't miss Terri Libenson's Becoming Brianna!

About the Author


Terri Libenson is the New York Times bestselling author of the Emmie & Friends series and the cartoonist of the (now retired) award-winning comic strip The Pajama Diaries. Terri empty-nests in Cleveland, Ohio, with her husband, Mike. She is the proud mom of two grown daughters and a poodle. You can find her online at terrilibenson.com.



Terri Libenson is the New York Times bestselling author of the Emmie & Friends series and the cartoonist of the (now retired) award-winning comic strip The Pajama Diaries. Terri empty-nests in Cleveland, Ohio, with her husband, Mike. She is the proud mom of two grown daughters and a poodle. You can find her online at terrilibenson.com.

Praise For…


“A delightful tale that navigates the precarious ebb and flow of friendship dynamics.” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“This story is simultaneously incredibly original and utterly universal. The emotional roller-coaster of navigating friendships as they change shape, particularly in middle school, is portrayed with admirable sincerity, gentle humor, heartbreaking pain, and of course plenty of texts and emojis. Libenson weaves a beautiful, accessible, layered story yet again.” — ALA Booklist

“Libenson perfectly portrays the gaslighting and passive aggression that can be the hallmarks of middle-school relationships turned sour, and readers struggling with cracking of beloved friendships will find reassurance in the book’s ‘this too shall pass’ sentiment.” — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books



Product Details
ISBN: 9780062851062
ISBN-10: 0062851063
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: May 7th, 2019
Pages: 256
Language: English
Series: Emmie & Friends