10/27 Ed Simon

Join Pittsburgh native Ed Simon for a deep dive into the forgotten or overlooked moments in the City of Bridges' history

RSVP on eventbrite

The land surrounding the confluence of the Allegheny, Monongahela, and Ohio rivers has supported communities of humans for millennia. Over the past four centuries, however, it has been transformed countless times by the many people who call it home. This brief, lyrical, and idiosyncratic collection follows the story of America’s furnace through a series of interconnected segments, covering all manner of Pittsburgh-beloved people, places, and things, including:

  • Paleolithic Pittsburgh
  • The Whiskey Rebellion
  • The attempted assassination of Henry Frick
  • The Harmonists
  • The Mystery, Pittsburgh’s radical, Black nationalist newspaper
  • The myth of Joe Magarac
  • Billy Strayhorn, Duke Ellington, Andy Warhol, and much, much more.

Accessible and funny, An Alternative History of Pittsburgh is a must-read for anyone curious about this storied city, and for Pittsburghers who think they know it all too well already.

Ed Simon is the incoming Executive Director of Belt Media Collaborative and the Editor-in-Chief for Belt Magazine, a contributing editor for the History News Network, and a staff writer at The Millions, which the New York Times has called the “indispensable literary site.” He is the author of several books, including An Alternative History of Pittsburgh and most recently Pandemonium: A Visual History of Demonology. His essays have appeared in The Atlantic, The Paris Review Daily, The Washington Post, Newsweek, Poetry, McSweeney’s, and The New York Times among dozens of others. Originally a native of Pittsburgh, he has lived in New York City, Boston, Washington DC, and now his hometown again.

An Alternative History of Pittsburgh By Ed Simon Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781948742924
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Belt Publishing - April 20th, 2021

Ed Simon tells the story of Pittsburgh through this exploration of its hidden histories--the LA Review of Books calls it an "epic, atomic history of the Steel City."


Binding the Ghost: Theology, Mystery, and the Transcendence of Literature By Ed Simon Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9781506478777
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Fortress Press - April 19th, 2022

Binding the Ghost is both manifesto and example of a new variety of reading that centers a theological perspective in considering what literature actually does.


Pandemonium: A Visual History of Demonology By Ed Simon Cover Image
$45.00
ISBN: 9781419756382
Availability: Backordered
Published: Cernunnos - February 22nd, 2022

A compendium celebrating the art of hell and its minions

Pandemonium: The Illustrated History of Demonology presents—for the first time—Satan’s family tree, providing a history and analysis of his fellow fallen angels from Asmodeus to Ziminiar.


The God Beat: What Journalism Says about Faith and Why It Matters By Costica Bradatan, Ed Simon Cover Image
$26.99
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781506465777
Published: Broadleaf Books - June 8th, 2021

In the wake of the horrific 9/11 terrorist attacks we, as an increasingly secular nation, were reminded that religion is, for good and bad, still significant in the modern world.


The Anthology of Babel By Ed Simon Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781950192472
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Punctum Books - January 21st, 2020

Why should there only be literary scholarship about authors who actually lived, and texts which exist? Where are the articles on Enoch Campion, Linus Withold, Redondo Panza, Darshan Singh, or Heidi B. Morton? That none of these are real authors should be no impediment to interpreting their invented writings.


Furnace of This World: Or, 36 Observations about Goodness By Ed Simon Cover Image
$14.95
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781789041255
Published: Zero Books - July 24th, 2019

In the tradition of Roland Barthes' Mythologies and Walter Benjamin's aphoristic Theses on the Philosophy of History, Ed Simon's Furnace of this World is a fragmentary, digressive, impressionistic account of what the radical implications of goodness could possibly be in late capitalism.